Black Girl In The City.


man, what a summer!
August 8, 2008, 7:36 am
Filed under: Reflections of a Black Girl | Tags: , , ,

{You’re Not Ready | But Click It Anyway}

I just left Sasha’s house. Took some time off of work to take care of some things…Sasha was already downtown so we hooked up for a second. It was really hot today and I wonder how the summers will be like 20 years from now. I just wanna be able to go to the park and sit on a blanket without feeling like I’m in a baking dish! Sweating is so not cute on an easy breezy day…well in most cases lol. Speaking of summer, this summer was a CRAZZZZZYYYY ONNEEE! Sasha and I were laughing about it in the car as we oogled a cop directing traffic. It had definitely been a summer to remember. The good, the bad and the beautifullyphukedup, I watched each of my friends grow into their dreams and others discover their lifelong purpose. I loved it all. I kinda feel like I was put on some kind of accelerated learning program in the school of life because I learned a gang o’ shyt! In fact, I think everyone around me did. Some conceived, some lost and some (most recently) birthed new life. 🙂 Personal and family relationships are mending, some are just beginning. I’ve seen Marriages…divorces…homelessness….victories…breakthroughs..relocations…life altering events and the birth of so many things new. When I said that this would be a year of change I had no effin IDEA! I lost some friends and gained a few old ones back, but the best part of all, I learned the importance of loving without fear. For once in my life I took a chance and gambled what I thought was my last. Yea, I fell on my ass hard a few times, but I would never regret a single day or a single tear. When I thought about it though, I felt like I had lost my last when in actuality I had gained so much more. I’m thankful for that. And at the end of it all, if I’m ever asked if I’ve experienced love I can say, “Yes,” and when they ask, “What did you love?” I can smile and proudly say…EVERYTHING.

-black girl.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

