Black Girl In The City.


A MUST SEE!

“PRECIOUS”

PUSHH

This story hits home in a lot of ways and is definitely on my film list for fall. Although I think they should have stuck with the original title “Push”, the lesson still sells itself. Based on the novel written by Sapphire, this film has already captured the Sundance Festival’s Grand Jury, Audience and Special Jury Awards.

About the Movie: Clareece “Precious” Jones is an overweight, illiterate African-American teen in Harlem. Just as she’s about to give birth to her second child, Jones is accepted into an alternative school where a teacher helps her find a new path in her life. Drops this November.

*The book is on Amazon for about $8 bucks.

41RNFGPAPYL._SS500_

-black girl.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

damn. will definitely have to check out the novel and film.

Comment by fly tie

Doubt if it’ll be in cinemas in the UK but looks like I’ll have to get the book. Trailer nearly made me cry.

Comment by Newsy Chick

Yes that book IS amazing. I read it years ago and I think its wonderful that Sundance picked it up. It’s something our young ladies need to see definitely

Comment by D

Wow I will definitely try to check this out.

Comment by tupieta

Wow. What a trailer, my eyes are watering. Looks amazing, i guess I should read the book. Cool blog btw

Comment by Taylor

Looks good can’t wait to watch it… I like the name change…Play on the word precious… Being something in th eye of the beholder.. just like beauty…

Comment by Wayne

THIS WAS ACTUALLY THE FIRST ADULT CONTENT BOOK I READ (9TH GRADE=2000). LOVED IT… I THINK THEY SHOULDVE STUCK WITH THE ORIGINAL TITLE THOUGH!!!

Comment by QUEEN

OMG The trailer alone is so powerful< I nearly cried. I can't wait to see the movie, I'll definitely grab the book too, I think this will cover so many issues in the black community.

Comment by Lady D




Leave a Reply

