Black Girl In The City.


if it’s meant to fly, we’ll fly.
July 9, 2009, 1:25 pm
Filed under: Chapter Next

1040701244383469

Andrew & Lili

Music: We Fight, We Love (Remix) // Q-Tip

I’ve got a date happening soon and I’m not quite sure what to wear. Say what? Black Girl is actually preparing in advance to see a cat? Absolutely. He’s cute and I’m interested.  Besides, I am always willing to give a brown newbie a chance despite my love/hate relationship with the male species.

The thing I like about this guy is his approach. Casual, clean and respectful.  He took on the male role, pursued and showed me that he was interested in seeing more about me.  Oh, and yes he did ask to hang OUT vs. throwing up an offer for a trip to his crib as a first-time connect – under the pretense of wine and weed, lol.   It’s funny because we’ve lived in the same area for years. At the time I was without a whip; commuting back and forth to work every day for a full year until I had enough cash for a decent car.  During those commutes I’d always see this same chill, chocolate brown brother on the 8:00am bus every morning. The thing I noticed first was that he was ok with being a regular dude, no rings or bling needed.  He had an inner confidence as though there were mounds of wisdom within the confinements of his mind, but these things lay dormant until revelation was an absolute necessity.    Only after watching him for a while was I able to pick up on this though.   But when I did see it, my interest was somewhat peaked.

Each day we’d follow the droned out commuter crowds, funneling like school fish down into the tunnels and dispersing to the trains for another day’s dollar.    He would take the Southbound as I, but rarely did I get on the same car.  From there he always disappeared and I was never pressed because I knew I’d most likely see him again.

Over a year’s time I never approached him because I didn’t feel that it was the right time.  The most I ever said to him was, “Hello,” before burying my head back into the magazine or book that I tried to make seem more interesting than he.   Eventually I got a car and it was no more busing or training it.  I thought about brown brown and the fact that I may not see him again.  Kinda kicked myself for not being on my carpe diem shit but it is what it is, right?   Little did I know that I’d pass him several times while driving to work.    He was always either waiting at the same bus stop or walking up the road or into the same community nearby.   Even then something inside me wanted to stop and offer a friendly ride but shhhhhheeeeeiii, I didn’t know this cat from Adam?!    And who’s to say that he wouldn’t have been like ,”Yo WTF Y0?” in response to misinterpreted eagerness as if I picked up dudes for a living, lol.

So I’d see him (or should I say pass him by) a few more times after and then he vanished.   A year and half later I’m attending a party with friends.  I walk in, take a few steps, greet a few folks…and there HE is.   Despite the inner fear of him thinking I was some sort of stalker, I immediately went and introduced myself telling him I used to see him all of the time.  Oddly enough he remembered exactly who I was and we both laughed at the irony while exchanging contact info.  Finally parallel paths cross and I so happened to be  wearing sexy heels that night.

And now it’s our first time hanging out and I’m not certain on what style to choose.  My own, regular me is jeans and a white t-shirt, lol, but I probably want to have my ante up for this one.   Who knows, he could be another jerk or he could be a brand new lover – but what’s most important is that I’m open to whatever’s new and cool for my life and if it’s meant to fly, we’ll fly.

-black girl.

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m digging your optimism on Mr.Brownie. All the best hun. =)

Comment by My2Sense

Hoping you have a great time. I second the earlier comment… your optimism is to be commended. Some of us are getting tired and ready to give up but then love comes around…and we try…just one more time. Let us know how it goes.

Comment by ucancallmeive

I say be you in all your “blackgirl-ness”. Accentuate the positives and have a good time! 🙂 PLEASE let us know how it goes!

Comment by D

Black Girl you betta come with it and rock it. You’ll have plenty of time for jeans and tees later… but don’t overdo it just give him a little sumpthin to remember and want to see again when the date is over. (talking about the outfit)… Have fun, I’m happy for you… (talking like I know you…lol) I follow daily….shoot and be mad when I see you haven’t posted…lol Remember, have fun and keep it light!

Shen

Comment by Sheniqua

hello miss lady =]
havent been to the site in a while,i felt like ive been missing so much!

Comment by janay

Right now i am smiling. I would luv to be in your shoes. The high from the unknow. wow. girl enjoy the honeymoon of dating brown.

Comment by BabyBear

Black Girl you betta come with it and rock it. You’ll have plenty of time for jeans and tees later… but don’t overdo it just give him a little sumpthin to remember and want to see again when the date is over. (talking about the outfit)… Have fun, I’m happy for you… (talking like I know you…lol) I follow daily… and have the nerve to be mad when I see you haven’t posted…lol Remember, have fun and keep it light!

Shen

Comment by Sheniqua

i love how you guys met..it will be a cute story to tell if you two get that far

Comment by tiffaneydanielle

Definitely ante up… Put on your swagger and turn it up, but not so loud that he can’t hear you. Sexy is always a good look, but also try to be comfortable. Don’t do what I did last nigth… sat wondering if my lip gloss was still shining… LOL But then he said, damn babe that lip gloss is popin’ and I said thank you out loud, but on the insdie I was squealing with joy!

Comment by Deesigner from Dallas




Leave a Reply

