Black Girl In The City.


Black Hair Documentary: Pt. 1
September 22, 2009, 10:03 pm
Filed under: Black Cinema

Here’s the first ten minutes of an independent film that’s worth the watch.   Although my hair is natural now, I can clearly recall the hoards of cash I burned for the sake of having my hair beautiful.  Wigs, perms, weaves, gels and sprays…taking a trip to the beauty supply had become as frequent a chore as going to the grocery store.  But not once did I ever stop to question exactly where all of that money was going.  Interesting…

-black girl.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Well I’ll be! This is going on right in my backyard. I know where all those beauty supplies are. I only know of one beauty supply that employs one black woman and thats only because she don’t take shit from the customers. Mind blowing. We can’t even get a black person to investigate it either. Who is Aron Ranen?

Comment by NotForTheFaintOfHeart

Funny how black hair products is one of the biggest products industries and we claim no ownerships to it. I have a good amount of hair but from time to time I will throw a weave in only because I don’t feel like being bothered by it but in recent months I have chosen to just go with my natural hair.

Comment by www.iEnobe.com

I don’t know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

A definite great read..Jim Bean

Comment by JimmyBean

There was a black lady in Maryland who opened a beauty supply store. Black people would catch cabs or walk to a Korean store even though she was right in their neighborhood. They would not support her, so she had to close her shop and move elsewhere. It is as if we are conditioned to support other races before we support our own entrepreneurs and businesses.

Comment by Jadia




Leave a Reply

