Black Girl In The City.


Chilly-O unveils The 64oz Club…I Like!
December 2, 2009, 4:10 am
Filed under: Out & About | Tags: , , ,

Music: Run This Town // Jay-Z, Rhianna, Yay

So, what’s there to do on the night before Thanksgiving when your family has taken over the crib and you need to get away for a few? You head over to Slice in Castleberry Hill to check out something new from one of the more consistent clothing designers I’ve seen emerge from the streets of this town. And also because you know that above anything else, a Chilly-O party is gonna be a kick-ass party (Blue Ribbon included!). The event was selectively coined F.A.M.E., which I think was a totally appropriate theme to represent the occasion. These guys work harder than most people realize.

I rarely blog about events or parties but I did want to talk a little about the new designs coming from the Chilly-O crew. If you don’t know who they are, check out the website, and then come back to read about what went down in one of Atlanta’s staple art districts over the Holiday. To be honest, I wasn’t gonna go at first. I had kids buggin’ me, a boo requesting my presence, moms sending me back and forth to the store, and a cousin who couldn’t make up her damn mind on whether or not to bring a ham that she didn’t end up brining anyway, Lol. But in spite of my own issues I had to go out and support those whom I know are progressive and value the power of art and personal expression.

Chilly-O (the person) blended into the crowd as he usually does. I don’t even think a lot of cats realized who he was (I’ve been told he prefers it that way, lol). The one’s that did know him by face mingled their way through a sea of bosses until they got close enough to give some dap, show a little love and offer a personal congrats. I was kinda early so when I walked up one of the first things he said was, “Where are the girls? We need some more girls in here to balance things out.” Little did he know that wish would come later as more folks began pouring in, including Pharell’s artist, Teyanna Taylor, and her femme fatale crew.

Sure that comment may sound like it’s coming from a mind that thrives on symmetry and balance, but Chilly-O and his design team are anything but what you’d except from the everyday typical…with or without the hot girls. Their latest designs are a representation of that mindset. The second installment of their Holiday collection is called The 64oz Club , and they’ve already got everybody in the city asking for validation of membership (and a free t-shirt). But what more would you expect from a group of creative folk who cater to everything A-Typical?

Here are a few photos from the event . Ignore the duplicates, I can’t figure out how to delete them, lol. For more info about the line, visit www.chillyo.com.

-black girl.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

thanks for putting me in the know. catchy pictures.

Comment by fly tie




Leave a comment